Blog Tour | A Drop of Night by Stefan Bachmann (Review + #Giveaway)

Welcome to my stop on the A Drop of Night blog tour! This book was nothing at all what I expected – in a good way! Read my full review below and then enter for a chance to win a copy for yourself!

 

I received this book for free from The Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour | A Drop of Night by Stefan Bachmann (Review + #Giveaway)A Drop of Night by Stefan Bachmann
Published by Greenwillow Books on March 15th, 2016
Genres: Horror, Mystery/Thriller, Young Adult
Format: eARC
Source: The Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Seventeen-year-old Anouk has finally caught the break she’s been looking for—she's been selected out of hundreds of other candidates to fly to France and help with the excavation of a vast, underground palace buried a hundred feet below the suburbs of Paris. Built in the 1780's to hide an aristocratic family and a mad duke during the French Revolution, the palace has lain hidden and forgotten ever since. Anouk, along with several other gifted teenagers, will be the first to set foot in it in over two centuries.

Or so she thought.

But nothing is as it seems, and the teens soon find themselves embroiled in a game far more sinister, and dangerous, than they could possibly have imagined. An evil spanning centuries is waiting for them in the depths. . .

A genre-bending thriller from Stefan Bachmann for fans of The Maze Runner and Joss Whedon’s The Cabin in the Woods.

Lesson #1 – Don’t read A Drop of Night alone.

Lesson #2 – Don’t read alone at night, especially right before bed.

Lesson #3 – Just.. don’t read it alone, okay?

A Drop of Night was so much more than I was expecting. It’s a genre-mashing thrill ride that took my imagination to new heights. I swear, my body was covered in goosebumps while reading this book. There were times when I would shudder and set the book down because I was wholly freaked out. But yet, I loved it.

We actually get two stories told parallel together that are equally important. We see the events between 1789-1790 that started it all, and then we get the present; 5 teenagers thrust together in an underground palace fighting to live. It flowed nicely, never giving us a dull moment or time to breathe.

Anouk was strong-willed, tough and borderline unlikable. She has that unrealistic narration I like in thrillers, too. Her sass and dark humor made light on some of the scary parts darker situations and how she handled everything with bravery was to be admired.

It was hard to connect to Anouk, well all the characters really, on the level that I like to. But after finishing and thinking about it, this wasn’t necessary for me. It doesn’t take a strong connection to root for a group of teenagers to live. To bite your nails in anxious anticipation because every room has a trap and you aren’t sure who will survive. While yes, at times their actions and lack of thought process frustrated me to no end –  I mean who wouldn’t assume something shady is probably going on when going to France alone? – I was rooting for them from the start and their development with each other was nice to read. They still bicker and frustrate each other but a bond was formed in the process.

The ending took a turn I didn’t see coming – which isn’t saying much with the twists A Drop of Night had within its pages. I was hoping for more, but this is all me and wanting to know about THE AFTER. That’s not the story, though, and considering all the different ways it could have went, leaves much to my imagination. And…. to keep me up at night.

All in all – I loved it! A Drop of Night is unique with its blend of genres and creeptastic shenanigans. It’s ability to hook from page one and keep me up at night, speaks volumes in my book. I highly recommend it!

 

[rating-report]

loved-it-word-rating

[divider]

giveaway5

Giveaway Sponsored by the publisher – 3 Finished Copies of A DROP OF NIGHT (US Only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

15 thoughts on “Blog Tour | A Drop of Night by Stefan Bachmann (Review + #Giveaway)

  1. Jen @ My So-Called Book Reviews

    A Drop of Night has been at the top of my TBR for several weeks now! I really need to get my hands on a copy because this is definitely a “me” type of thriller, it sounds SO good. Great review, you’ve got me even more excited for it 🙂

    1. tonyalee

      Thanks!

      Yes it is. I almost said it’s Saw meets YA but i haven;t seen Saw so not sure how that would translate LOL

      1. Braine

        The Evening Spider. It’s a thriller that flip flops from past to present. It had so much promise but didn’t quite deliver. This one sounds wayyy better

  2. Weekly Wrap Up (101) - Two Weeks Worth of Awesome • LilybloombooksLilybloombooks

    […] [16 Mar] A Drop of Night by Stefan Bachmann […]

  3. Kaelyn

    I’m really excited for A Drop of Night! I first heard about it on Twitter and it’s been on my TBR for a while. It sounded like exactly the kind of book not to read alone at night 🙂

  4. Tammy V.

    I love books that are unusual. A book that gives goosebumps is perfect for a before bedtime read 😉 I’ve seen good reviews for this one and he is a new author for me. Hope to try it soon.

Leave a Reply